Homemade Yogurt

It looks like today is the first day of the Sugar Free Challenge!   I thought for some reason it was tomorrow?  🙂

Today,  I have homemade yogurt on my mind!  I love yogurt, and eat it practically every day.   I save so much money by making it myself! And you don’t need a yogurt maker or any fancy equipment!

Homemade Yogurt

Adapted from Lane at A Food Journey Continues

Print this recipe!

2 gallons skim milk

2 cups nonfat dry milk

8 oz nonfat yogurt

5 capsules probiotics (optional)

Sit the yogurt on the counter and bring it to room temperature.  You can buy a container of yogurt, or I just use some yogurt from the last batch I have made.

Mix the milk and powdered nonfat milk powder together in a large pot.  I  use two pots that can stack together as a double boiler so the milk does not burn.  Burnt milk does not make good yogurt!  I put about 2 inches of water in the bottom pan, and then but the smaller pan inside the pan with water.  It  protects the milk so it is not right on top of the heat.

Clip a thermometer to the side of the pan and heat the milk to 170 degrees, stirring occasionally.

Once the milk reaches 170 degrees, remove it from the heat and let it COOL to 110 degrees.  I do whatever it takes to cool it down …

Preheat the oven to 200 degrees.  Stir the room temperature yogurt into the milk.   You can also add some pro-biotic capsules in if you would like.  This just adds some more healthy bacteria into the yogurt, and who doesn’t like good bacteria!  I currently have some Jarrow Formulas capsules that I am using for my yogurt.  I use about 5 capsules.

Divide the milk between glass jars.

I use quart sized glass canning jars with lids and bands.  Place the lid on the jar, and the band.  However, do not tighten the band.  Leave it very loose on the jar.

When all the jars are filled, turn off the oven.  You just want to heat it up to be warm, but do not keep it on.  Place a towel down on the oven rack.  Place the jars inside the oven on top of the towel.  When you have placed them all inside the oven, place another towel on TOP of the jars, to cover and protect them.

All of the jars in the oven on top of a towel.

Covered with another towel. Yes, there are jars of yogurt in there! (And no - my towels are not color coordinated....)

Leave the yogurt in the oven and undisturbed for 6-8 hours, or overnight.  I find that if I prepare this before I go to bed at night, it works really well.  I am not wanting to use my oven for anything else during the night!

In the morning, you will have yogurt!  Remove the jars from the oven, tighten the bands, and place in the refrigerator until you are ready to enjoy the yogurt!

This is a thicker yogurt – Greek style.  It isn’t as thick as Greek yogurt, but is thicker than regular yogurt.  Plus, it has added protein from the milk powder!

Note:  you can use any type of jar to put the yogurt in that has a tight fitting lid.  You can also use any milk you would like (1%, 2% whole), I just like using skim milk to make it fat free!

As you can see, I reuse lids that have the seal broken and have been previously used for canning, and any type of jar I can find!

I love having yogurt to use baking, and for snacks!

This yogurt is sugar free, and I can add in it what I want!

Are you joining in the sugar free challenge?  I am off to plan some sugar free meals!

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. Ok. I’m making this! I’ve considered buying a yogurt maker, but haven’t splurged yet…apparently I don’t need one!
    I’ll probably use whole milk since I’m on a full-fat dairy kick.
    Thanks for sharing this—I can’t wait to try it!

    Reply
  2. How inspiring! I’ve been wanting to make homemade yogurt for quite some time and you make it look so easy! It’s definitely high up on my to-do list.

    Reply
  3. Hi Jane, thanks for stopping by Savoring Today, it was good to find your blog, especially this yogurt recipe! Hope your New Year is a merry one! 🙂

    Reply
  1. Fishy Cakes with Yogurt Blue Cheese Sauce «
  2. Quinoa Eggnog Crepes « The Healthy Beehive
  3. Homemade Kefir « The Healthy Beehive
  4. Superfoods Challenge: Homemade Yogurt « The Healthy Beehive

What do you think?

  • WELCOME

    Welcome to my blog - a place for simple living, healthy recipes, and my adventures through this journey called life!
  • Recent Posts

  • Recipage
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Marrying my love
  • Send me an email! thehealthybeehive@gmail.com
  • Categories