Getting ready for the Sugar Free Challenge and 3 Nut Butter Recipes

I decided to sign up for the Sugar Free Challenge, hosted by Alex of Spoonful of Sugar Free!  I had done this challenge back in June, and I really enjoyed it.  Although I have let my sugar habits, creep back in, I just remember how much better I felt about myself when I was restricting my sugar!

However, due to some stomach issues I have been having, I have decided to go grain free as well!   I want to challenge myself to go sugar free, as well as grain free!

I started with no grains just a few days ago and I am learning – it is hard!  There are some gluten free options out there, but a lot of gluten free goods  still use rice flours, and other grains.  For example – tortillas.   I love the Food for Life brown rice tortillas — so good!  However, rice is a grain.  Booooooo!

Source

I did find this recipe for grain free tortillas that I plan on trying!

In preparation for the sugar free challenge, I have been trying to stock some essentials, and make some nut butter!  I love making my own nut butter because I can make it sugar free, salt free, and just let the flavor of the nuts come through.

Almond Flax Butter

Adapted from here

2 cups raw almonds

1/3 cup whole raw flaxseeds

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spread out almonds and flax seeds on a cookie sheet.  Roast for 10 minutes, stirring every couple minutes.  Do not let the nuts burn!

Take out of the oven and let cool.   When nuts are cool, process in food processor.  Keep scraping down sides every few minutes.  Keep processing until the nut butter turns soft and creamy.

Place in a covered jar.

I really love the nutty taste the flaxseed gives the almond butter!

Lots-o-nuts Butter aka Nutty Butter

1 cup almonds

1/2 cup peanuts

1/2 cup walnuts

1/2 cup cashews

1/2 cup sunflower seeds

1/4 cup whole flax seeds

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spread out nuts on a cookie sheet.  Roast for 10 minutes, stirring every couple minutes.  Do not let nuts burn!

Take out of the oven and let cool.   When nuts are cool, process in food processor.  Keep scraping down sides every few minutes.  Keep processing until the nut butter turns soft and creamy.

Place in a covered jar.

The great thing about this nut butter is that you can add whatever nuts you would like.  Make it your own!  It also turns nice and creamy and smooth.

Make sure to label it!

Coconut Cashew Butter

1 cup unsweetened shredded coconut

2 cups cashews

In a food processor, start processing the unsweetened coconut.  Every few minutes, stop the food processor and scrape down the sides.  Keep going until the coconut turns “buttery”.  (Is that a word??)

Add the cashews.  Process until it all mixes together.  It will get crumbly.  Keep going …  It will turn into a big ball.  Keep going …  Eventually it will turn into a creamy smooth nut butter!

Now I need to give my food processor a rest!

 

Would you consider joining the sugar challenge?

Leave a comment

8 Comments

  1. I’ve been thinking about doing a sugar detox! I love these recipes, will have to try them after having recent success with homemade nut milk.

    Reply
    • Very cool! I’ve always considered making nut milk, but I have a slight love affair with Almond Breeze unsweetened vanilla milk 🙂

      Reply
  2. I’m a big fan of the sugar-free and grain-free lifestyle! I have explored so many dietary approaches to address health issues, and never really had real results until I cut out those two things (at the same time). I know not everyone is the same, but it’s definitely worth trying! Will be looking forward to following your journey with this 🙂

    Reply
  1. Sugar Free Anniversary Dinner «
  2. Sugar Free Breakfast Options «
  3. Sugar Free Update and Chocolate Lemon Coconut Cups «
  4. Apple Quinoa Breakfast Cereal «
  5. Chocolate Coconut Cookies « The Healthy Beehive

What do you think?

  • WELCOME

    Welcome to my blog - a place for simple living, healthy recipes, and my adventures through this journey called life!
  • Recent Posts

  • Recipage
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Marrying my love
  • Send me an email! thehealthybeehive@gmail.com
  • Categories