Sugar Free Breakfast Options

I think winter is here to stay!

Luckily, I have this handsome guy to shovel all our sidewalks!

Sammy likes to watch him to make sure he is doing a good job.  🙂

And I prepare breakfast!

I don’t know about you, but I have problems finding options for breakfast that do not have sugar involved!

I work 12 hour shifts, so I have to have foods that will keep me full for a long time, so I am not constantly eating all day long at work.  Since I decided to go grain-free, oatmeal is not an option any longer!

Ashley posted about her buckwheat bakes a while back, and I had forgotten about them!  They are filling, easy to transport to work, and delicious (and can be made sugar free!).

Carob Almond Buckwheat Bake

adapted from here and here

Print this recipe!

2 tbsp raw buckwheat, ground into a powder in a coffee grinder

1 tbsp amaranth seeds

1 tbsp carob powder

1 tbsp chia seeds

1 tbsp ground flax seed

1/2 tsp baking powder

1 dash salt

1/4 tsp almond extract

1/2 banana, mashed

1/4 cup unsweetened almond milk

Preheat oven to 350.

Grind 2 tbsp raw buckwheat groats in a coffee grinder (should make about 1/4 cup ground).  Add the whole amaranth seeds, carob powder, chia seeds, ground flax seed, baking powder and salt in a small bowl.

In a separate bowl, mash the banana.  Add it to the buckwheat mixture with the almond extract and milk.  Mix well.

Prepare a ramekin or small bowl by spraying with nonstick cooking spray.  Spoon the mixture into the bowl.  Put the bowl on a baking sheet and place in the 350 degree oven.

Bake for 30-35 minutes until it is puffed and looks muffin like.

Top with nut butter, nuts, fruit, raisins, whatever you feel like!

I love these because I can make them them in advance, pop in a container, and have breakfast ready for all week long at work!  And it keeps me full!

With coffee!  Luckily for me, I don’t like sugar in my coffee.  Just milk for me – unsweetened vanilla almond milk is my favorite!

I also have been experimenting with protein muffins that I found here.  These are also great for taking to work!

Pumpkin Muffins

Serves 1

adapted from here

Print this recipe!

2 large egg whites, whisked

2 tbsp coconut flour

1 tbsp chia seeds

1 tbsp raisins or dried cranberries

1/4 cup pumpkin puree

1/2 tsp baking powder

Mix together all ingredients.  Place in a microwave safe container.

I used a coffee cup.  Spray with nonstick spray so the muffin will come out after it is cooked.

Microwave for 3 minutes (depending on your microwave).  Top with nut butter, sugar-free jelly, additional raisins, and sliced banana.  Coconut cashew butter is awesome on this!

If you are not restricted from sugar, you can add 1 tbsp maple syrup as well.  I think it is fine without it!  The coconut flour gives it a different sort of texture from a regular muffin, but I like it.  I won’t tell you what my husband said about it …

 

Do you have any sugar free breakfast ideas that you love?

Leave a comment

7 Comments

  1. Your bake looks fabulous! I am totally in love with those things. . . love that they can be made without grains (technically!) too. Great breakfast (and thanks for the shout-out!). 🙂

    Reply
  2. The buckwheat bake and the muffin both look really good!
    The only things I really eat for breakfast are eggs with cheese—it helps a lot with not getting hungry for a while (although since I’m doing the intermittent fasting thing, I’ve been eating “breakfast” around 12-1pm—I guess it’s still technically breakfast!).

    Reply
    • Very true, eggs do fill me up too. That is normally my “weekend breakfast”! It is just hard to take to work …

      Reply
  1. Sugar Free Update and Chocolate Lemon Coconut Cups «
  2. Coconut Flax Bread « The Healthy Beehive
  3. Chunky Apple Buckwheat Bake « The Healthy Beehive

What do you think?

  • WELCOME

    Welcome to my blog - a place for simple living, healthy recipes, and my adventures through this journey called life!
  • Recent Posts

  • Recipage
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Marrying my love
  • Send me an email! thehealthybeehive@gmail.com
  • Categories