Coconut Flax Bread

Since going gluten free, I have not had bread at all.  I have had pancakes and buckwheat bakes, but no bread.  Honestly, I don’t miss it that much!

I found this recipe, and this bread is amazing!  It hold up fabulously, has a small ingredient list, and cooks up quickly!  Win win win!

m_IMG_5865-1

Coconut Flax Bread

Print this recipe!

Recipe found here

Makes 1 small loaf

1/2 cup coconut flour sifted

1/2 cup ground flax seeds

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp baking soda

5 large eggs

1/4 cup coconut oil, liquefied

1/8 cup water

1 tsp apple cider vinegar

Preheat oven to 350.

In a large bowl mix the coconut flour, flax seeds, salt and baking soda.  Add the eggs, coconut oil, water, and apple cider vinegar.  Mix well.  There will be some clumps, but stir well.

Prepare a loaf pan by greasing well with non stick spray or additional coconut oil.  I used a cast iron loaf pan that is 9 inches x 5 inches.  Pour in the batter.  Bake for 40 minutes.

Remove from oven and cool in the pan 10 minutes.  Remove from the pan and cool on a wire rack.

m_IMG_5866-2 s

I love this bread!  It is not sweet at all (there is no sugar in it), but I found it good for a toasting bread, and for recipes that call for bread crumbs!

You will note, however, that this bread doesn’t “rise” like a normal loaf a bread would.  Honestly, I probably would not use this for sandwiches.

However, a slice of this bread is a great morning snack full of good fats and protein!

Question:  Does anyone else have a good gluten free AND grain free bread recipe?

Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. I’ll have to try it this weekend!

    Reply

What do you think?

  • WELCOME

    Welcome to my blog - a place for simple living, healthy recipes, and my adventures through this journey called life!
  • Recent Posts

  • Recipage
  • Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

  • Marrying my love
  • Send me an email! thehealthybeehive@gmail.com
  • Categories